350 LINCOLN ROAD
The Lincoln Building was designed by architect Albert Anis and built by the Lagner Construction Company in 1946, and is classified as “Contributing” in the Miami Historic Properties Database and is located within the Flamingo Park Local Historic District and the National Register Architectural District. It is a five story office building with retail spaces on the ground floor. The building’s ribbon windows and elegantly detailed coral limestone veneered facade is a unique hybrid design of the Streamline and Federal Art Deco styles that were pervasive at that time.
The building’s location and scale is significant. Together with the 402 Lincoln Road Building the two buildings in their day anchored Lincoln Road and Washington Avenue giving the resort city a sophisticated urban stature. The Lincoln Building had been neglected for several decades and its restoration has significantly contributed to the revitalization of the district.
On the ground floor the primary corner retail space is characterized by a symmetrical recessed entrance with a unique cantilevered stainless steel boomerang overhang canopy that engages the open air vestibule. Further framing the lower corner of the building is a smooth granite veneer frieze that was used as a backdrop for retail signage. Large and bright signage was characteristic of many facades on Lincoln Road between Washington Avenue and Collins Avenue during the 1940’s and 1950’s and is now part of the Lincoln Road Signage District.Above the entrance to the lobby for the offices on the upper floors on Washington Avenue is a re-creation of the original iconic sign.
During the 1960’s, 1970’s, and 1980’s the building went into disrepair and many of its important ground floor architectural features were lost behind metal corrugated siding, and an interior fill-in of the iconic recessed exterior vestibule on the corner with a secondary storefront. The large granite frieze panels on the ground floor were tiled over with a black mosaic wall tile. Air conditioning wall units for the office spaces above were randomly scattered in the windows of the two primary facades and the original office lobby entrance sign had been removed.
In 2008, the building was purchased and developed by The Wings Group. The project team restored the lower retail level, overall facades, office building lobby, and office lobby’s exterior vestibule and entrance sign. The significant historic renovation included a full upgrade of the building’s mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and life safety systems. Its fenestration and storefront were brought back to their original design and its elevator modernized.The building is now home to TD Bank in the primary space on the ground floor and a work hared office on the upper four floors.